Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 30th, 2007

Rain did not dampen our poetic spirits on Sunday, July 29, probably because we were sitting in Jan’s sunroom. How can you not feel sunny while sitting in such a room? Our poems for the afternoon included:

John Keats (1795-1817) – bio and biographical context

Sonnet To Sleep

Sonnet (Why Did I Laugh Tonight?)

Dylan Thomas (1914-1953) – Wales ‘greatest’ poet – bio

I Have Longed to Move Away

The Hand That Signed the Paper

Was There A Time

Ray Freed bio

California #40 from his collection called Much Cry Little Wool published in 1990

I couldn’t find this in print on the web, but I did find a video of the poet reading this poem…a must see.

Rena Lee Kofmanbio

To Be Like Moss…

My Skin

Jeffrey Harrison bio

God’s Penis – published most recently in Manthology: Poems on the Male Experience, it appears also to have been published in Harrison’s own collection entitled Incomplete Knowledge in 2006. I was able to find the poem in print on-line although The Southern Review wants to charge you for it.

Narda Bush

Noodling – also from Manthology: Poems on the Male Experience, I couldn’t find any thing anywhere about this poet or this poem. In short, it’s a fun play on words involving a nice Italian story and pasta.

Edwin Arlington Robinson (1869-1935) – winner of 3 Pulitzer Prizes for poetry

Miniver Cheevy analysis

Robert Browning (1812-1889) – bio

My Last Duchess

Read Full Post »